Saturday, 24 June 2017

Top Withens. Emily Bronte's Inspiration.

The abandoned farmstead of Top Withens (Also known as Top Withins) is said to have been the inspiration for Emily Bronte's novel Wuthering Heights. There is a plaque at the ruins that reads,
''This Farmhouse has been associated with "Wuthering Heights", the Earnshaw home in Emily Bronte's novel. The buildings, even when complete, bore no resemblance to the house she described, but the situation may have been in her mind when she wrote the moorland setting of the Heights.''
- Bronte Society 1964. This plaque has been placed here in response to many enquiries.

The farm was thought to have been built in the 2nd half of the 16th century and was lived in by the Sunderland family when the novel was published in 1847. The last known inhabitant was Ernest Reddy in 1926.

The pictures were taken using a polaroid iS2132 Camera in March 2014.

Thanks for looking and please take a moment to share, all the pictures remain the copyright of Colin Green.

Thursday, 8 June 2017

Wainhouse Tower, King Cross, Halifax.

A little about Wainhouse Tower which is a folly in King Cross, an area of Halifax, West Yorkshire. It rises 275 feet making it the tallest folly in the world, has 403 steps from the bottom to the lower viewing area and took 4 years to build being completed in 1875. The tower is open to the public on bank holidays and cost's just a few pounds to enter with outstanding views across the Calder Valley the reward.

The tower was originally built to provide a chimney for the Washer Lane Dye Works but when the works manager bought the works he did not want to pay for the tower, so John Edward Wainhouse decided to add viewing platforms to it and the local tale of the Tower of Spite began. The tale goes that Wainhouse had a long standing feud with neighbour Sir Henry Edwards who was said to have the most private estate in Halifax, with Wainhouse adding the viewing platforms so that Edwards could never claim privacy again. The tower cost £14,000 to complete(£1.129428,00 at 2017 prices).

The chimney came under the ownership of the Halifax Corporation in 1919 and was used as an observation post during World War 2 and became the property of Calderdale Council 1974.

The pictures were taken on various dates using either a Polaroid iS2132 Camera or a Nikon d3300 SLR Camera.

Thanks for looking and please take a moment to share, all pictures remain the copyright of Colin Green.

Tuesday, 6 June 2017

Todmorden Unitarian Church.

Todmorden Unitarian Church is a redundant Unitarian church, now under the management of the historic chapels trust, which is located at Honey Hole Road, OL14 6LE, near the centre of Todmorden, West Yorkshire.

Work started on the church in 1865 paid for by brothers, Joshua, John and Samuel who built the church in the memory of there father "Honest John" John Fielden at a cost of £35,000 (equivalent to £3,074,555 at June 2017 on land that the family owned and only using the best materials they could find and in a gothic style with a tall imposing spire. The first sermon was in April 1869 and the church was continuously in use until 1987 when it fell in to disrepair due to decay and vandalism. In 1994 the Historic Chapels Trust took over the church and started a £1,000,000 refurbishment and repair program and the church began services began again in 2008. Grade I listed status was granted on the 22nd November 1966.

I have visited the church grounds on many occasions and the following images are the result of those visits, using several different cameras and at different times of the year.

Thanks for looking and please take a moment to share, all the images remain the copyright of Colin Green

Sunday, 4 June 2017

The Calder & Hebble Navigation. Halifax Branch Canal.

The Halifax Branch of the Calder & Hebble canal is an approx. half mile waterway that stretchers from Salterhebble junction / locks to the Watermill bar at Salterhebble Wharf.

The canal opened in 1828 and rose through 14 locks to end at Bailey Hall close to where the train station and Eureka museum now stands. The Halifax Branch fell in to disuse with the rise of firstly railways and the road transport and the section from Salterhebble Wharf to Bailey Hall was abandoned in 1942 and this has now become a cycle / pedestrian route known as the Hebble Trail with a little evidence that it was once a canal.

There is a little support for reopening this stretch of canal to help boost tourism in Halifax and a more enlightened council may look at these proposals but sadly with limited finance, and an unambitious local authority this is unlikely to ever happen.

There are a total of 13 pictures to view, they can be seen below or on Clickasnap where they are full size, resolution and un-watermarked. They were taken on the 9 April 2017 using a Nikon d3300 camera.

The start of the Halifax Branch, Salterhebble Locks are just to the
left of the picture out of sight. The bridge in the distance carries the
Halifax - Brighouse stretch of railway and crossers the canal which is
heading in the direction of Sowerby Bridge.

Wakefield Road Bridge. The canal brakes off to the left just beyond the bridge
through Salterhebble Locks in the direction of Brighouse.

The abutment to the right used to support a bridge that crossed the
canal here. The bridge has long since been removed.

Salterhebble Moorings can be seen in the distance. Tihs
is where the canal now ends.

To the right of the Watermill Bar is Salterhebble Tunnel. The canal continued through
 there and immediately entered lock 1 of the 14 on exiting the tunnel. The stone lock
walls can still be seen.

The modern day end of the Halifax Branch Canal. The Watermill Bar and
 Restaurant occupies what was the site of Salterhebble Mills. There is
also a Premier Inn hotel on the site,

Thanks for looking and please take a moment to share, all the pictures remain the copyright of Colin Green.